George Eliot

George Eliot (1819 - 1880), the pen name of Mary Ann Evans, was an English novelist, poet, journalist, and translator during the Victorian era. She authored seven novels-including Adam Bede (1859), The Mill on the Floss (1860), and Middlemarch (1871-72)-most of which are set in provincial England and are known for their realism and psychological insight.